top of page
  • Writer's pictureMiss Shackleton

Writing to Self Story #3:Independence

Updated: Feb 24, 2021

When I was 7 years old, I remember having food still left on my plate but not being able to finish it, but of course I wanted desert haha who wouldn't. My dad was sitting across from me and the first words that came out of his mouth when I said " I'm full, can I have desert?" were " Did you know that some kids in this world don't even get supper or desert." Hearing those words come out of his mouth at 7 years old, I was blown away and heartbroken, NO SUPPER OF DESERT! I felt a pit of guilt in my stomach starting to grow, and it continues to grow each day. I never left food on my plate after that day.

This is when I realized my socioeconomic status. We never had to worry about money, we never had to worry about if there was going to be supper or desert on the table because there always was. Yes my parents worked hard for the money they earned to provide for our family. Although when I got around the age of 15 years old where I started to go out with my friends. My parents weren't paying for anything. My dad always said " If you want things in life you have to work hard for them". So I got a job at 15 years old and I've had a job every since. Through high school I attended classes and had a part- time job. I saved up enough money to buy my first car. I paid for clothes, snacks, fast food and many other things. Also when I decided to go to university, I told my parents " I am getting a loan, and that's that" Now I go to university full time and have two jobs. My parents continue to support me with whatever I need, but the morals I have grown to have since I was 7 years old don't show that. They show independence.


I would say my family is in the middle/upper class margin. Both of my parents make good money, I have never starved, I grew up in a nice house, my parents own many properties and we are able to buy expensive things if we so choose. That's the thing though my parents provided for me, but there is a time in your life when you need to be independent and provide for yourself. I come from a middle/upper class family, but I decide whether or not I take advantage of that or grow on my own. To this day I continue to eat every thing off my plate.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Writing Self Analysis

i) We are expected to follow many gender normative narratives surrounding us, like that isn’t very ladylike or boys can’t… These are statements we have heard at least once in our lives. Througho

Writing Self Story 4: The Ponytail

It was a cold December day, I had a hockey game in Churchbridge tonight. I always disliked playing that town because they played so dirty, but you gotta do what you gotta do. I went to school that day

Reading Response #1

First Nations people were born and raised on the land that we call Canada, we negotiated treaties with them to ensure many different things. Some being resources, rights and land. As I grow older and

bottom of page