top of page
  • Writer's pictureMiss Shackleton

Writing Self Analysis

i) We are expected to follow many gender normative narratives surrounding us, like that isn’t very ladylike or boys can’t… These are statements we have heard at least once in our lives. Throughout society there are norms of how genders have to act, dress and etc. These norms have been placed in society since the dawn of time, we are immune to them because we don’t know any different. In the next few paragraphs they are discussion how females and males in society are trying to show strength and interests against these normative narratives but are stuck in the certain “norms of a female and a male”.

Relating this normative narrative to the female gender role within Jenna’s story, I was able to relate to it significantly. “As years have gone on, I have heard my mom tell me to be more ladylike more than a handful of times for whatever reason. She has learned to accept what and how I choose to do things. I continued in every kind of dance class until I was 16, and from grade one on, I learned I needed to balance my activities with something more physical like water polo, rugby and boxing classes.” This quote from Jenna’s blog doesn’t follow the norms of women, it the COMPLETE OPPOSITE. Women are portrayed to be fragile “pretty pink little girls”. When you meet this criteria you are accepted into society as “ ladylike”. When Jenna shared this statement in her story I was able to relate immediately this being because when I was younger I was always known as a “ Tomboy” . I was always known as “ one of the guys”. I filled my time with sports like hockey and basketball, chatting and joking around with the boys. Even though Jenna and I have interests that are labels “ For men, or unladylike” we are still females just with a different spin on the stereotypes of how to act, dress and etc.

Even when we talk about females having normative narratives, there are many normative narratives surrounding the male gender role. In Jaya’s story there is a great example of it. “The day came where we had a new student, he was a boy. When he walked into our class and whispers began. “Boys can’t dance” “Who is that” . I was also surprised that his parents agreed to let him join. It wasn’t at all common at our dance studio for boys to join, but it was crazy to think his parents accepted him. I thought to myself, who decides what sports are for girls and boys? Who decided what they can or cannot do? Society has labeled men to be the household provider, masculine and tough. When reading this statement in Jaya’s story I was able to relate to how that boy was probably feeling because it was the same situation within my own gender based story titled “ The Ponytail”. When I was told “ Get off the ice, girl’s don’t play hockey.” Society has portrayed many activities to be female and male oriented when really it doesn’t matter which sexuality you are


ii) From reading the stories described in part i, when I came across Kassidy’s story and there was one line in it that stood out to me. “My mom sits my sister and I down and we start putting on all of our makeup: foundation, blush, eyeshadow, eyeliner, fake eyelashes. I always feel so pretty with my face all done up! I love being a girl, none of the boys get to wear fake eyelashes. Now my least favourite part, mom has to do my hair. She always pulls so hard it hurts, but everything has to be perfect! Once my hair and makeup are all done my friends and I take tons of pictures. I always feel like I’m the prettiest girl when I’m all dressed up with my hair coiffed and so much makeup on. I feel like I’m truly myself when I’m all done up because I love feeling girly.” After reading this I noticed that this story was WAY different then mine, that being because they liked the societal “girly” things. Which is completely fine, but it just shows that many people in this world have their own interests and preferences. Many people think these interests come from gender but they don’t they come from your personality you grow to have as an individual person.

Do you think every male wants to be tough and masculine? I highly doubt it, i bet they wanna cry sometimes, get upset, take a break from providing for their household and maybe even be a stay at home dad. It goes the same for females, do you think they want to be fragile, makeup covered faces and calories watchers? No they probably want to be strong and successful in this world and maybe even take part in binge eating a tub of ice cream after playing a masculine sports or interests because why not!. These normative narratives based upon society for both genders being discussed are hard to break and you can tell through the story’s discussed in part i.Changes can be made but it’s hard to be proud of them because they are not known as normal by society.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Writing Self Story 4: The Ponytail

It was a cold December day, I had a hockey game in Churchbridge tonight. I always disliked playing that town because they played so dirty, but you gotta do what you gotta do. I went to school that day

Writing to Self Story #3:Independence

When I was 7 years old, I remember having food still left on my plate but not being able to finish it, but of course I wanted desert haha who wouldn't. My dad was sitting across from me and the first

Reading Response #1

First Nations people were born and raised on the land that we call Canada, we negotiated treaties with them to ensure many different things. Some being resources, rights and land. As I grow older and

bottom of page