top of page
  • Writer's pictureMiss Shackleton

Reading Response #1

First Nations people were born and raised on the land that we call Canada, we negotiated treaties with them to ensure many different things. Some being resources, rights and land. As I grow older and gain more knowledge about the European and First Nations relationship. I understand myself more as a treaty person because If my ancestors were to make an agreement with someone, and for it to still be present to this day, makes me part of that on-going relationship between these two nations. In the Courageous Conversation by Singleton and Hay’s , they bring to our attention that we have to have courage and strength to talk about these topics based upon race, because there will be many disagreements, judgement, and all around just different points of view. As I talked about in another post on my blog about reconciliation, all it takes is two people to be open and willing enough to have a conversation about these sensitive topics. It’s the only way there will ever be change. Although that the hardest thing to do, because how do we prepare and go about these conversations based upon a huge topic of discussion, who is to be included in these conversations? Politicians? Even though...wasn’t that where all of this started was from people of power. James Daschuk in “ Clearing the Plains” talks about how much the First Nations lost, how they lost their identities, culture and traditions. How do we repair this damage? Nether the less but where and how do we start? When reading these pieces I think how come we are “all” treaty people but yet one side seems more superior than the other? How come the scale is tilted to one side? When I begin to see racism as a Canadian thing, it showed me that a country based upon freedom and being proud, isn’t what it is. Having an Indian Act to restrict First Nations people from seeing the world outside reserve land, isn’t freedom. So how do we change this definition of freedom for all people no matter their race, gender, culture and beliefs? Or is the saying of a country of freedom just false? Who knows the real answer?

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Writing Self Analysis

i) We are expected to follow many gender normative narratives surrounding us, like that isn’t very ladylike or boys can’t… These are statements we have heard at least once in our lives. Througho

Writing Self Story 4: The Ponytail

It was a cold December day, I had a hockey game in Churchbridge tonight. I always disliked playing that town because they played so dirty, but you gotta do what you gotta do. I went to school that day

Writing to Self Story #3:Independence

When I was 7 years old, I remember having food still left on my plate but not being able to finish it, but of course I wanted desert haha who wouldn't. My dad was sitting across from me and the first

bottom of page