top of page
  • Writer's pictureMiss Shackleton

Writing Self Story 1: New Belonging

Updated: Oct 31, 2019

On a chilly August evening, I am wrapped in a blanket that surrounds my body with warm comfort, as I sit on the hard wooden plank in the Ochapowance First Nation Powwow grand stands. I watch as people scurry in with their families, sharing hugs, smiles and laughs with others around them. Kokum and Nimosom being said to every other elder entering the stands trying to find their seats with their families.


I inhale deeply and immediately smell something burning.. Suddenly a cloud of smoke is cascaded through the air. I inhale deeply and exhale slowly. The sent is strong but not awful. I begin to feel relaxed and safe within my surroundings.


Bang! Bang!


All you hear is the bangs on the drums. It echoing through the stands, Feeling it on the wooden plank under my body as I sit there.


Thud! Bang! Thud!


Words being sung that my brain can't comprehend but my heart warms with understanding. The thuds and bangs become more intense.


I begin to feel the beat underneath my feet and the vibration running through my veins. Enormous headdresses swaying throughout the spotlight shining upon them, the feathers dancing like angels. Feet tapping just like twinkling stars, arms out soaring like an eagle wings in the sky and moving in a circular motion scoping out it's pray.


My heart begins to race to the beat of the drum, my foot begins to tap and a smile forms on my face. In this moment I had a sense of understanding, love, and belonging from a community that I didn't grow up in, but was accepted into with open arms.

40 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Writing Self Analysis

i) We are expected to follow many gender normative narratives surrounding us, like that isn’t very ladylike or boys can’t… These are statements we have heard at least once in our lives. Througho

Writing Self Story 4: The Ponytail

It was a cold December day, I had a hockey game in Churchbridge tonight. I always disliked playing that town because they played so dirty, but you gotta do what you gotta do. I went to school that day

Writing to Self Story #3:Independence

When I was 7 years old, I remember having food still left on my plate but not being able to finish it, but of course I wanted desert haha who wouldn't. My dad was sitting across from me and the first

bottom of page