top of page
  • Writer's pictureMiss Shackleton

Writing Self Story 2: Being Watched

Updated: Oct 4, 2019

Feeling the sharp cold air as I get out of the passenger side door. My friend and I walking over the fresh fallen snowing toward the rink doors of Ochapowace First Nation. As we walking in the door the lady asked for our 5 door students admission and stamp our hands, saying enjoy the game.


We open the door leading towards the bleachers and the ice surface. I feel many eyes on me as I follow my friend to an open seat. We sit down to enjoy the hockey game going on below up in the bleachers. I look around to see everyone sitting with their families and friends. Then I hear from a distance


What is that white girl doing on the reserve? Who kid is she?


My friend looks at me and says : hahah your probably the whitest person here, just saying


Through those 60 minutes on the clock I could feel eyes looking at me, In that moment I knew that being white and being on reserve was unusual but I came to think it shouldn't matter we are all people.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Writing Self Analysis

i) We are expected to follow many gender normative narratives surrounding us, like that isn’t very ladylike or boys can’t… These are statements we have heard at least once in our lives. Througho

Writing Self Story 4: The Ponytail

It was a cold December day, I had a hockey game in Churchbridge tonight. I always disliked playing that town because they played so dirty, but you gotta do what you gotta do. I went to school that day

Writing to Self Story #3:Independence

When I was 7 years old, I remember having food still left on my plate but not being able to finish it, but of course I wanted desert haha who wouldn't. My dad was sitting across from me and the first

bottom of page