top of page
  • Writer's pictureMiss Shackleton

Fall 2018/Winter 2019: University Of Regina

When I got accepted in the U of R Elementary Bed Program I was stoked! When I got there it wasn't was I was expecting... Did you know on average there are 80 students per class.... well I didn't know that, I'm used to my 15 person class from high-school. So professors are good and some aren't, you being in the role of a student pick upon that fairly quick. You don't have your teachers continuously reminding you of homework due the next day, because in the university that's all on you to do the work outside of the lecture halls. Even though all of us new that because our high-school teachers preached it all the time..... University it's up to you to get your stuff done!


As the semester went on I noticed a pattern and it was in 3's as I told my mom. Two good marks then one bad one..... Isn't it suppose to be good thing happen in 3's well not in this case.


I took on many roles in my first semester like volunteering, becoming a so called " morning person", having a part-time job and most importantly becoming an adult and thinking for myself. By the way.... Be thankful for what your parents did for you because I tell yah I miss my mom doing the dishes and cleaning the toilets hahah!


I made my own routine like adults should and well it didn't go as planned most of the time because well take out food and procrastination became huge distractions and issues that being with my stress levels and bank account haha.


I became tired a lot of time, napped a lot like those 4 hour power naps.... awe I miss those


Then during the end of October I came to a big decision within my teaching career, and that had to do with a boy I was working with at Jack MacKenzie Elementary School. that's when I decided to transfer to the Secondary Education Program, to major in Social Studies and minor in Inclusive Education.


This change was the best step I have very taken, and I owe it all to that boy. For showing me apart of myself I wasn't able to recognize myself. I started that winter semester in History, Geography, Education Psychology and an Indigenous class. Sitting in those classes made me realize i'm doing what I love and isn't that the most powerful thing to know as a young adult, to be able to find your interests and follow your dreams.




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Fall 2019: University Of Regina

Well I'm still in University, 2nd year in and still going strong! This next year of school has been the craziest rollercoaster of my life.... and your about to know why. I decided to take summer class

bottom of page